Jump to content
Cover for Marjorie's Maytime
Isbn: 978-87-2689-527-8
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Children's books 6-9 years
Accessible since: November 2021


Marjorie's Maytime

‘Marjorie’s Maytime’ is the fifth in Carolyn Wells ‘Marjorie Maynard’ children’s series. We re-join Marjorie and her family as they take a motor holiday together in the family’s new car. Out in the countryside, the irrepressible Marjorie makes lots of new friends and still manages to get up to plenty of mischief.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Following school in New Jersey, Wells worked as a librarian, where she developed her love of reading. It was during 1896 that Wells' first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published. From 1900 she dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader